Credit: Blane Perun


Bordered by Slovakia, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia, Austria and Ukraine, Hungary is a small country with a rich history. It was founded in the 9th century, after having been previously occupied by Celts, Huns, Avars, Romans and Slavs. It converted to Christianity around 1000 AD, gradually rising to be a medium power in Central Europe. It lost its independence to the Turkish Empire in 1526 and stayed under Ottoman rule until 1699, when it came under the rule of the Habsburgs and was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire until 1918.

After World War I, Hungary lost more than 70% of its territory and entered WW2 on the side of the Germans in hope of regaining it. After the War, it came under Soviet influence until 1989, when it became a democratic republic – which it still is today.

Blane Perun

Diver - Photographer - Traveler

Whale in Ocean