Credit: Blane Perun


Vienna, the capital of Austria, was founded in 500 BC and became the residency of the Habsburg dynasty in 1440, serving as an important center for arts, politics, science and culture. It became the capital of the Austrian Empire in 1804 and the capital of the Republic of German-Austria after World War I.

During World War II, it was conquered by Germany and, after the War, it was divided into 4 sectors, each under the surveillance of the 4 victorious powers: the Soviet Union, France, the UK and the USA. Vienna gained back its autonomy in 1955. Since then, it has been home to numerous important international organizations and has regained its importance as a cultural center as well.

Blane Perun

Diver - Photographer - Traveler

Whale in Ocean